Rice Baby @Subiaco

Rice Baby
483 Hay St, Subiaco, Perth, WA

Rice Baby, the sister of the restaurant MISS CHOW in Claremont, is now situated away from the hustle and bustle of Subiaco, serving Asian fusion cuisine to all the foodies in Perth.

I have never been to MISS CHOW before. As an Asian, you are always looking for the authentic Asian food, rather than a fusion thing. So, I was here today simply because I was craving for a lava cake and this cake has been spamming in my Instagram. So, meanwhile being a matcholic, why not give it a try?

This place is spacious for a bunch of diners, particularly having a high ceiling inside. Looking at the massive bistro while eating was like the most comfortable thing ever (at least for myself, YES). I felt the word “leisure” in there. Staffs are hospitable and friendly as well. What about the food? Well, it tasted okay and slightly overpriced. Is the menu attractive? Um, apart from some twists coming up from the main, I didn’t see any surprise in the menu. And this is why we ordered two dishes only. But saying honestly, you would never find out the surprise until you have tried it. Right?

(1) Roast Duck Mini Bao:
Have you ever have a feeling that you are so into something with unknown reasons? To me, bao is like the thing or I would rather say this as a steamed bun. They were pillowy soft on the outside, chewy soft on the inside. Presenting the dish in this way is a pretty smart choice because diners can optionally put any veggies or sauces they want. Meanwhile, the roast duck was so tender though it was slightly small in portion. Even though they mentioned this as “mini bao”, I just wonder is this really worth the price?

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Roast Duck Mini Bao (4pcs) ($24)

(2) MATCHA lava cake:
The reason why I was here today is this matcha lava cake! However, it turned out to be a disappointment. You know, as a food blogger, viewing photos before visiting a restaurant is a must-do thing. Looking up places with delicious food and insta-worthy photos are part of our job. So, what I found on Instagram about this restaurant? It is all about this lava cake. And the fact is, I’ve been craving for lava cake for long! But this, the one I had today was an overcooked lava cake with NO LAVA. It was an absolutely solid cake. This is such a shame! Being a chef, I am sure you would never want to serve your diners an overcooked stuff. Besides, this cake is as small as my palm and costing $10. Once again, overpriced?

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Matcha Lava Cake ($10)
Leave a Reply

